Kohl Hard Facts

This adventure we call life in the Kohl Family

Thankful Days 10 and 11 November 12, 2012

Filed under: November Thanks — kohlhardfacts @ 4:19 am

Well, yesterday was moving day and then we had a baby shower for the newest addition to the Frodge family.  All in all a very good, but very tiring day.

Day 10, November 10

Oh so many things to be thankful for today!

One – or, well, two things I guess – I am thankful for today are our cars.  The Escape – aka Bumblebee – my car, my baby or the past 10 years.  She’s been with me through so much.  The college years, losing the keys and breaking out a window, all of the road trips, towing the boat, visiting a certain young man in Minnesota, moving back and forth to NY.

She has over 170,000 miles on her now…I got her when she had 30,000….That’s a lot of miles.

She’s certainly got her quirks now [the radio/CD player/tape player doesn’t work, the back gate lock broke, the key fab takes a little finesse to lock and unlock the doors, there’s a slice down the back bumper from a saw incident], but she’s still rolling strong.

And our van – my Mom Machine.  The one we got for such a great deal at a time when we very badly needed a second car…for a really great deal.  She’s not fancy, but she’s reliable.

 

Day 11, November 11

Veteran’s Day – I am so very thankful for the many men and women who have fought to protect our country and for their families who have sacrificed so much.

My Grandad [Mom’s dad] served in the Royal Canadian Air Force in WW2.

My Papaw [Dad’s dad] served in the U.S. Army during WW2.  [We have this great picture of him looking all handsome in his uniform.  Sadly, I cannot find it right now…and it’s once again after 11 p.m.  So I’m going to bed and will look for it again tomorrow.  If I find it, I will definitely share it.]

 

Leave a Reply

