Kohl Hard Facts

This adventure we call life in the Kohl Family

November Month of Thanks Days 6 and 7 November 9, 2012

Filed under: November Thanks — kohlhardfacts @ 4:42 am

Today has been rough – stressful and overwhelming.  It makes it tough to reflect on the thankfulness.  But those are the times it’s even more important to bring them into focus – to set my sights on the blessings rather than the frustrations.

So…

Day 6, November 6

Election day…

I am thankful for the women [and men too] who stood up for my right to vote.  Those who said that a woman’s voice is just as legitimate – and needed – as a man’s voice.

Women like Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Lucretia Mott, Lucy Stone, and of course Susan B. Anthony.

I am grateful that these women saw the importance of making their voices heard and worked hard to make sure that right was passed on to me, to my daughters.

Source

Day 7, November 7

Clothes!  I am so thankful that we are able to clothe our family.

As I began packing away our clothes in preparation for the move there were moments when I was just so frustrated and exhausted by the amount of time it took me to sort, fold, and pack away all. those. clothes.

Then it hit me – I am so blessed to have these clothes.  To be able to afford to splurge from time to time on the new stuff.  To have clothes to pass down from when V was a baby that L is now wearing.  To have clothes handed down from cousins and friends.  To have so many loved ones who have blessed us with clothes as gifts.

I am thankful for the 3 suitcases, 3 tubs, and 4 boxes full of blessings – even when it takes me 5 hours to sort, fold, and pack it all.

Source

 

Leave a Reply

