Kohl Hard Facts

This adventure we call life in the Kohl Family

Giving up on Good: Hair May 31, 2012

Filed under: Encouragement,Giving Up On Good — kohlhardfacts @ 6:31 pm

The Tiny Twig and Naptime Diaries [two very awesome blogs that I highly recommend!] are pairing up for an awesome series called “Giving Up On Good.”  And today I’m linking up with them for my own Giving Up On Good post.

The idea is to be honest about the things we do – and the things we choose not to do.  So these wonderful women are inspiring other women [including me] to encourage one another in openness, honesty, and grace.  Because, let’s be honest, no one really does it all.

1 Thessalonians 4:18  Therefore encourage one another with these words.

1 Thessalonians 5:11  Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing.

Hebrews 3:13  But encourage one another daily, as long as it is called “Today,” so that none of you may be hardened by sin’s deceitfulness.

Allright, I’m in!

So here’s the good I’ve given up on:  perfect hair.

V is almost 2 and a half and still hasn’t had a hair cut.  Mostly because I just don’t care that much about how her hair looks.  I’m thankful that it’s long enough to put in pig tails or a ponytail, but that’s really all I ever do with it.  [Poor thing inherited my thin, fine hair, so it’s really hard to do much with it.]

I cut C’s hair myself.  We bought a $20 hair cutting kit at Walmart when we first got married.  I use the 2 setting for the sides and the 4 or 5 setting for the top. [The only tricky thing with his hair is that he has two very pronounced cowlicks.  If I’m in a hurry and don’t do those parts carefully, he ends up with a one-sided mullet looking thing on the back right side of his head – not attractive.] A few snips around the ears, and he’s good to go for at least 3 weeks.

And then there’s me.  My dear friend Renee is pretty good at encouraging forcing encouraging me to get my hair cut at least once a year [yea…I know, you’re supposed to do it like every 3 months.]  The last time I got it cut, I went to Great Clips because they were having a $4.99 grand opening sale.  I don’t get it colored.  I wash it with baking soda and vinegar [it’s called No ‘Poo]  More often than not I throw it up into a messy bun.

I know lots of people put time, effort, and money into how their hair looks – much grace to you!  If hair is your thing, I hope you feel the freedom to embrace that [and I hope you don’t judge me for my lack of hair care! 😉 ]  For me and my family, giving up on perfect hair means more time and money for other things and less stress in my life.

What “good” things do you and your family let go of?

 

Love the static hair!

 

Leave a Reply

