Kohl Hard Facts

This adventure we call life in the Kohl Family

5 Minute Friday – Perspective May 18, 2012

Filed under: 5 Minute Friday — kohlhardfacts @ 8:21 pm

I’m back for another round of 5 Minute Friday – check out The Gypsy Mama to find out what it’s all about.

So here’s my 5 minutes on…

Perspective

GO

I’m bitter.  I’m bitter about something, and I’m holding on tight to it.

My knuckles are white with the fierceness, the hardness with which I’m holding onto this.

Do you ever know that you need a perspective change, but you really just don’t want one?

Oh how stubborn my flesh is.

But the Lord – oh He is so sweet.  And patient.  Patient beyond what I can even begin to comprehend.  Ever so gently and tenderly, He takes my hands in His.  Softly strokes them.  Whispers with love, “Let go, child.  I have something so much better to give you.”

And me?  I shake my head.  Clench harder. Grasp bitterness with all my might.  [As if my might could ever stand up to the mighty love of the Lord!]

He speaks again, through His written word, “For [Erin] trusts in the Lord; through the unfailing love of the Lord, she will not be shaken.”

He whispers, Do you trust me?”

My hands shake with the effort to hold on.

I read another woman’s words, “And in that place of humble thanks, God exalts and gives more gifts, more of Himself, which humbles and lays the soul down lower.  And good God responds with greater gifts and even more of Himself.”

He whispers, “Do you trust me?”

Slowly, joint-by-joint, finger-by-finger, the hands loosen; let go; empty.

And I wait for the new perspective, His perspective.  I wait with anticipation because I know – because He has shown me that it will be good.  It will be sweet. It will be His.

STOP

And because I just can’t resist a picture of these two adorable faces….

 

5 Responses to “5 Minute Friday – Perspective”

  1. Stacy Says:

    “As if my might could ever stand up to the mighty love of the Lord!” I absolutely LOVE this statement! He is so faithful! It WILL be good! Beautiful writing. 🙂

  2. Amy Says:

    Do I ever KNOW I need a perspective change and not want it? YES, YES, YES! I had someone tell me I needed to pray about a situation and I said “I don’t want to! I am not done being angry!”.

    So much to learn! 🙂

  3. Goodness, you’ve painted a word picture of what its like hold on to something that the Lord wants us to give to Him. Praise God for His patience and goodness towards us, not because we are deserving but because He is good and faithful!


Leave a Reply

