Kohl Hard Facts

This adventure we call life in the Kohl Family

A Great Delight March 16, 2012

Filed under: Encouragement,On Babies and Being a Mommy — kohlhardfacts @ 10:11 pm

I took the girls to the store by myself for the first time the other day [and it went surprisingly well!  We actually had fun if you can imagine.  It was definitely one of those gold star mom moments.  You know, the kind that makes you feel like “wow, I’m a good mom!  I can do this!”  These moments tend to be few and far between, so I cherish them when they happen.]

As we were leaving, I asked, “Viola, where should we go now?”  Her response?  “Chick-alay wi Daddy.”  Which of course made me one happy Momma seeing as Chick-Fil-A is my favorite fast food restaurant.  [We even had CFA breakfast minis for our wedding!]

So we loaded up, called Daddy, and met him at our favorite place.

As usual, the Princess ate all most of her food and then was ready to play!

C and I were still eating, so we tried something new: we sent her in all by herself to play.  At first she just wandered around in the play area chatting it up with the other kiddos her new best friends [her usual MO…don’t know where this little social butterfly gets it from!]

Then we watched as she ventured toward the climbing stairs.  We held our breaths as she stood there regarding her challenger, observing as the other kids ascended with ease.  I could see the glint in her eyes when she accepted the challenge.  She hoisted her leg up onto the step, reached across for leverage from the side and pulled, wiggled, and slid herself up onto the step.

Victory!

Caleb and I cheered and clapped and waived frantically.  It was the first time she had accomplished this task without any help from us, and we were so proud!

I’m sure we looked more than a little crazy, but who cares?!  That was our baby girl!

The whole ordeal lasted only about a minute but the moment was stuck in my mind.  As parents we really delight in our children and their accomplishments.  This got me thinking about one of my favorite Bible verses.

Zephaniah 3:17

“The LORD your God is with you,
he is mighty to save.
He will take great delight in you,
he will quiet you with his love,
he will rejoice over you with singing.”

I can totally see God getting crazy excited over my accomplishments, your accomplishments, even ones that may seem minor to others.

I can imagine Him jumping up and shouting for joy because you did it!

Can’t you just picture Him making a dancing fool of Himself because He is so in love with you? [Is it blasphemous to call God a dancing fool?]

As much joy and delight as I take in my girls, God’s joy and delight over me, over you is infinitely greater!

Bask in that today.  Let His love quiet you.  Picture Him, the God of the Universe, dancing over you.  I don’t know about you, but I find that kind of love undeniably attractive and inviting.

A picture of Caleb and Viola’s first father/daughter dance:

 

One Response to “A Great Delight”

  1. Miriam Says:

    Thanks Erin. I needed to hear this today.


Leave a Reply

