Kohl Hard Facts

This adventure we call life in the Kohl Family

Good Enough February 15, 2012

Filed under: Encouragement — kohlhardfacts @ 4:51 pm

I thought it was enough to be mostly filled with the Holy Spirit.

I thought it was enough to make good decisions most of the time.

I thought it was enough to step a little way out of my comfort zone.

I thought it was enough to live on yesterday’s growth.

I thought it was enough.

It’s not.

My wonderfully loving God has so much more for me.  He doesn’t want me to live with enough.  He wants me to experience the richness, the fullness of the best.

The thing about the best, though, is that it is not equivalent to the easiest.

The best that God has for me takes risk and trust.  It requires me to let go of good enough; to let go of my way, let go of control, and open myself to His way.

Yikes!

So here I go.  No more getting by on good enough.  I want it all; all of His best.  I’m asking Him to show me what His best is for me and give me the courage to risk whatever it is He asks of me.  Step number one?  Giving up our Saturday nights to be involved in a church plant that Mission 21 has asked us to be involved in.  And trusting that He will work out the details of how that’s going to happen.

 

2 Responses to “Good Enough”

  1. Kyra Says:

    Erin, you are a blessing. You need to know that the Lord just convicted me through your words. While I have been given direct leading and confirmation in a particular situation, I sit here and struggle with pride-driven rebellion. Dear God, you know I love you, but…this SUCKS!! lol And my thing is so petty and trivial…but my pride is disturbingly voracious and all consuming… Bah! :oP

    While our individual paths may not look exactly the same, we are struggling in a very similar way… and I am thankful that He has chosen, in His divine wisdom, to place our families together on this journey.

    ~Kyra

    • I feel the same way, Kyra! What a little thing for me…going to this Saturday night thing. And yet I have been so stubbornly against it. I am also very thankful that God has allowed us to walk this journey together. If there’s anything specifically I can do/pray for please let me know!


Leave a Reply

