Kohl Hard Facts

This adventure we call life in the Kohl Family

The Voice of Truth February 9, 2012

Filed under: Encouragement,On Babies and Being a Mommy — kohlhardfacts @ 8:51 pm

I took a little hiatus from blogging because….well, to be honest I was feeling insecure and doubting myself.

My thoughts were along these lines:

[I feel like] EVERYONE blogs, so why would anyone want to hear from me?  I’m not great at _____[insert whatever my friends’ blogs happen to be about].  I don’t have anything new or unique to say.  No one really cares about what’s going on in my life.  I’m not creative/smart/interesting/funny enough to write a blog.

There’s a little nugget of truth in each of these statements….but here’s the thing – anytime there’s a partial truth, there is really a lie.  Psalm 51:6 says, “Surely you desire truth in the inner parts; you teach me wisdom in the inmost place.”  So I asked myself, “What is God’s truth that He wants me to hear?  What is wisdom in the face of this lie?”  The truth is that I don’t have to measure myself by other people, their blogs, or what they might think of me and what I have to say.  I enjoy blogging.  I like putting my thoughts to paper web page.  And I like sharing my thoughts with others.  Whether they get anything out of it or like what I have to say is up to them, not me.  Plus, as my friend Melissa said, it’s a legacy I can leave behind for my kiddos.

So I’m back to blogging, and I will continue until I feel like it isn’t something beneficial for me anymore.

And I’m choosing to listen to the Voice of Truth.  Because His voice will not only speak Truth to me, it will also speak Love.  Beautiful, pure, adoring, unbounded LOVE.  And that is something we all need to hear more of.

Speaking of love…I am so in love with this little that I gave birth to [more on that in a future post] exactly two months ago today.  She is beautiful and happy and strong and sometimes a bit demanding.  Already we can see that she is a very social little girl.  Most of the time if she’s upset, it’s just because she wants someone to come talk to her and give her attention.  [Especially if that someone who comes over to her is her big sister.  Precious!!]

Here she is…

 

10 Responses to “The Voice of Truth”

  1. So precious, Erin. I didn’t even realize you had a blog! We LOVE to hear what is going on in your sweet family and I appreciate your take on things, that was GREAT!!

    Keep it up as you are able and enjoy those beautiful babies!!

    Love you bunches,
    Your cousin,

    Molly

  2. Nana Says:

    Ok, just so you know, I was hanging on every word you typed!! 🙂 And of course, I adore this face and all the faces that live in your house!
    Love you honey! D & M

  3. Beth Says:

    I’m with you. I love blogging, but it’s hard sometimes not to fall into the trap of feeling insecure and wanting to be “liked” and “popular.” It’s almost as if all the progress I’ve made in my life in those areas is forgotten when it comes to blogworld. But it’s not why I blog, really, so I keep listening to the “Voice of Truth,” also. Love this post. 🙂

    And she’s SO cute. 🙂

  4. Katie Miller Says:

    I’ve enjoyed reading your blog posts and I hope you’ll keep writing! Also, I love seeing pictures of you and your family:)

    Love,
    Katie

  5. Kathy Says:

    Erin,
    I’m glad you are listening to the voice of truth and blogging again! Though I don’t always leave comments, I enjoy these windows into your life as I can no longer look out my real window and see you!:) You are a beautiful person with a wonderful perspective on life that I love– so know I am a fan of your blogs– and of your precious little ones!!! I love you Erin!


Leave a Reply

