Kohl Hard Facts

This adventure we call life in the Kohl Family

Adventure Is Out There! September 26, 2011

Filed under: On Babies and Being a Mommy — kohlhardfacts @ 3:49 am

[Bonus points if you can name that movie.  It’s one of Caleb and my favorites, and we absolutely love this quote!  We love adventure!]

My newest adventure…. Cloth Diapers

I’m sure some of you are thinking I’m crazy!  [You may be right…we shall see.]  But tomorrow I will be starting this new adventure.  I am excited [and a little nervous] to see how everything goes.  We decided to make this change for several reasons.  Here they are [In no particular order really.]

First, in doing the math, I realized it is actually cheaper to use cloth [assuming I don’t go nuts and buy the most expensive diapers I can find or buy way more than I could possibly need…both real possibilities.  But I will try to restrain myself.]  I considered going cloth from the beginning with Viola.  At the time, we were moving and traveling all the time and also living in apartments where we didn’t have our own washer/dryer, so we decided it didn’t make a lot of sense for us at that point in time.  Second, it is better for Viola and Little Sister.  I figure limiting the amount of harsh chemicals and such that they come in contact with is a worthwhile goal.  Third, it is better for the environment.  Neither Caleb nor I are particularly passionate about being “green.”  But we figure if God entrusted us with the care of this Earth we should do our part as much as possible.

One reason I was hesitant to begin cloth diapering is that it seems like there is this whole society/culture that you have to buy into if you’re cloth diapering.  I’m just not into that.  But I am into doing things that are good for my family….so here goes!  I’ll let you know how it all works out!

 

6 Responses to “Adventure Is Out There!”

  1. Kristin M Says:

    Added Bonus…they are so cute! I love all the fun colors and designs you can get with cloth diapers!

  2. Darlene Says:

    I did both. Keep the disposables for when you go out and the cloth for at home works pretty well. They also feel softer. I am guessing you are pregnant again. Congrats. Brian is getting married in November….I hope to have grandkids in a couple of years. Hang in there. This season of life for you can be a REAL adventure.

  3. Stacey Says:

    oo!!! i want to know all about it! while kids are still in the future (and god goes along with my plan) ive already been looking into cloth diapers. let me know what you think! all the dirty details 😉

  4. […] [in case there are 3-4…which happens!] *A wet bag for said soiled diapers [Because we use cloth diapers] *An extra outfit for L [Infants are messy!] *A nursing cover and/or receiving blanket *Snacks and […]


Leave a Reply

