Kohl Hard Facts

This adventure we call life in the Kohl Family

Confessions of an Imperfect Mom August 10, 2011

Filed under: On Babies and Being a Mommy — kohlhardfacts @ 5:58 pm


Being a mom is great!  I love it and I love Viola and I feel so blessed to get to be home with her every day!

That being said…

Being a mom is really tough!  I feel like all of my flaws and imperfections are amplified.  I feel like I mess up more often than not.  I feel guilty and tired and worried and frustrated and inadequate.

In short, I realize more and more every day my incapability to be the Momma I need to be in my own strength.  To say parenthood is a lesson in depending on the Lord is an understatement.  Without the guidance of the Holy Spirit and the wisdom of the Father and the grace of Christ, there’s no way I would be making it through this.

Far too often I find myself forgetting this.  I try to rely on my own strength and wisdom [more like lack thereof] or I buy into the lies of the enemy that tell me I’m supposed to be the perfect Mom [whatever the heck that means!]; I’m supposed to have it all together; I’m supposed to have all of the answers.  [What a load of crap!  How do I ever believe that?!  And yet I do!]

So I ask the Lord to remind me of verses like 2 Corinthians 12:9, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”  And Provers 3:5, “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding.”  And songs like, “‘Tis so sweet to trust in Jesus and to take Him at His word, just to rest upon His promise and to know, ‘Thus sayeth the Lord.'”  And many many others.  I’m not perfect.  I will never be perfect, but the Perfect One resides in me and longs to display His glory through my imperfections.  What a privilege!  What a comfort!

 

4 Responses to “Confessions of an Imperfect Mom”

  1. Michelle M Says:

    You are one great mama, Erin!! MISS YOU!

  2. Katie Miller Says:

    Well, you just about summed up motherhood to perfection! Lots of mistakes with a sprinkling of success:)

  3. Alicia D Says:

    I wish I could say it is getting easier for me, but the questions just get more difficult to answer. Just when you think you’re landing them in therapy they surprise you and God reminds you He’s still in charge. Brielle’s prayer last night included the words : I pray everyone in the universe would be thankful to God. It reminds me that with Him leading the way, we will be successful mothers in His terms, not ours.

  4. Mom and Dad Says:

    You are an amazing Mom and your girls are blessed to have you. Keep up the great work God has called you to. We love you!


Leave a Reply

