Kohl Hard Facts

This adventure we call life in the Kohl Family

Getting in Touch with my Creative Side August 4, 2011

Filed under: Projects — kohlhardfacts @ 4:55 pm

Generally I’m not super creative, and I really don’t feel like I’m very good at art [other than photography.]  So when I found this DIY art project on another blog, I debated for quite some time if I should even give it a try.  In the end I decided it seemed simple enough and I gave it a go.  Turns out I really enjoyed it!  Now I find myself surfing blogs looking for other DIY projects and such for the girls’ rooms. [By the way, I still find it strange to say that sometimes: the girls…as in two…I’m going to have two little girls!  Eek! 🙂 ]  So here’s a picture of my first project for Little One’s room:

All it took was:

A plain white canvas [I got them on sale at Michael’s 7 canvases for $20…so I can do more fun projects!]

Scrap book paper [also on sale at Michael’s for $4.99 and enough that I can use the rest of the pages for an actual scrapbook!  Bonus!]

Brown Paint

Mod Podge [for gluing the paper onto the canvas and sealing the canvas]

What do you think?  Anybody have ideas for other fun [simple] art projects for my girls’ rooms?

 

9 Responses to “Getting in Touch with my Creative Side”

  1. Nana Says:

    Love it…..You may not feel creative, but you have always had an eye for hanging my pictures…right! LOL The “girls” rooms will look great!

  2. Miriam Says:

    Great job, Erin! I too find it easier to work off of the ideas of others. So, excited for your new little princess to join the Kohl fun. I’d love to see pictures of the new place, along with all the art.

  3. Katie Miller Says:

    Lovely! I like the color combinations!

    Try doing something with each girl’s name on the canvas. I think that would be nice.

    Katie

    • Thanks for the idea, Katie! It’s one of the ideas I’ve been tossing around. I saw one today that was a vintage-looking name sign that I really liked. I’ll make sure and post pictures of what I decide to do.

  4. Kristi Michaelson Says:

    Hi Erin! Love your project! Really nice! I really enjoy reading your blog and keeping up with you guys. Maybe one day I will create one. Anyway….I follow my friends blog from KS and she did a couple of projects and when you asked for ideas I thought about hers and sharing it with you. So here is the link to her blog for the one project I thought was really neat and thought you might like it. Check some of her other stuff too. Her and her husband are Christians too. 🙂 Enjoy and let me know what you think. 🙂


Leave a Reply

