Kohl Hard Facts

This adventure we call life in the Kohl Family

Day 8 – Little Surprises August 2, 2011

Filed under: 30 Days of Gratitude — kohlhardfacts @ 4:29 pm

Viola usually naps from 11 a.m. to 1:30 or 2 p.m.  Generally she doesn’t eat lunch until after her nap, so we are often eating a late lunch.  Most of the time I eat lunch while she is napping because 1. I get hungry and 2. It’s easier to feed her if I am not trying to eat at the same time.  But the other day I had been busy with various projects and didn’t end up eating lunch while she napped.  When she woke up we were both very hungry!  And I was lacking in the creativity for coming up with yet another lunch menu.  So we I decided to go to Steak n Shake.  I don’t do this very often with her [go out for lunch that is], but it felt like a good day to do something special just the two of us.  As I said, Viola doesn’t wake up until 1:30 or 2, so by the time we got to Steak n Shake it was happy hour [part of the reason I chose Steak n Shake.]  Anyway, I ate my meal and was too full to have a shake [but as it was happy hour, I certainly couldn’t pass up the opportunity to get one!]  I took the shake home and put it in the freezer for later.  Which brings me to what I am thankful for….little surprises!  I forgot that I had put the shake in the freezer until a couple of days later.  It was quite an exciting and enjoyable surprise, and I’m actually glad that I decided not to eat it that day.  An unexpected shake in the freezer was a nice pick-me-up on a long, hot day.

It’s important to remember to be thankful for the small things in life.  I am finding myself with a better attitude and constantly looking for things to be thankful for on a day-to-day basis, and I find myself telling the Lord about these things that I am thankful for…overall it has been a very positive experience thus far.  I challenge you to look for one new thing each day that you are thankful for.

 

Leave a Reply

