Kohl Hard Facts

This adventure we call life in the Kohl Family

Day 5 – Friendship July 15, 2011

Filed under: 30 Days of Gratitude — kohlhardfacts @ 5:35 pm

Sorry for the brief hiatus over the past week or so.  We have been a busy, busy family spending time seeing friends!  Which brings me to Day 5 of my 30 Days of Gratitude…

I have been blessed throughout the various stages of my life with wonderful groups of friends.  Some I have stayed in touch with and some I have not.  I am so very grateful for all of those friendships and the ways they have impacted me.  My prayer is that I too have impacted them in return.  Friendship is such a wonderful blessing from the Lord.  He has used my friends throughout the years to shape me, guide me, strengthen me, test me, mature me, and so much more.

Hannah and I were very good friends in undergrad at Taylor and roomed together for a semester.  She is one of the people who helped shape and challenge me in those years.  It is so fun to see her now in her roles as wife and Mama to the beautiful Avi.  Her friendship still blesses me, and I’m thankful we were able to get together a couple of weeks ago!

Renee and her husband Leo became our family while we were in New York.  The first time I met Renee she was talking about being from Indiana.  I immediately loved her for that (and as I got to know her, many more wonderful qualities she possesses.)  She found out I was pregnant and immediately loved me for that.  🙂  Renee is another person who has changed me and made me a better person.  I am so thankful we were able to go to the Children’s Museum while she and Leo were in Indy.  We also were able to go over to Cincinnati to visit with our friends Shawn and Katy, another instrumental family in our time in New York.  But I forgot to take my camera, so I don’t have any pictures from that trip.

Last but not least, the wonderful group of women that make up Mother/Daughter weekend.  This is a wonderful, special tradition that we have been doing for the last 11 years.  Although the weekend tradition only began 11 years ago, I have known these women for most of my life, certainly as far back as I can remember.  I have learned so much from this group of women.  It has been a joy and privilege to grow up with them, walk through life with them, share in joy and sorrow and growth and pain and everything in between.  From Elementary School and playing “Little Women” to the drama of boys and cliques and grades in High School to the struggle of finding ourselves and how to grow up in College to discovering the paths God has led us down in our adult lives we have loved each other and challenged each other, grown together, grown apart, and changed in so many ways…it is such a beautiful thing!  I don’t even know how to begin to express how grateful I am for these women!

**Note:  These are people who represent various phases of my life that I have been able to get together with recently.  If you are not pictured, please don’t think it means I am not abundantly thankful for your friendship!  Hopefully I will get to see you very soon and tell you how thankful I am for you!

 

Leave a Reply

