Kohl Hard Facts

This adventure we call life in the Kohl Family

Half way there, livin’ on a prayer October 28, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — kohlhardfacts @ 6:04 pm

Take my hand.  We’ll make it I swear, oh livin’ on a prayer!

That’s about how our household (and from what I can tell, most everyone here at ATS) is feeling right now.  Halfway through the semester, how did we get here already?!  I’m pretty sure the only way we’re going to make it through the second half of this semester is on a prayer…we have so much to get done and less than two months to do it all in.  The older I get, the faster I think life moves.  Isn’t it still summer?  Maybe August or something?  Aren’t we just settling into the semester?  Apparently not, because this weekend is Halloween already.

Speaking of Halloween, last weekend we went to “Boo at the Zoo” at Bronx Zoo with a bunch of friends and dressed up all of the kiddos (they got in free if they were dressed up).  I am so thankful for the group of friends we have here in Nyack.  I really don’t know what we would do without them!

Most of the Kiddos - Hannah, Sophia, Zoey, Ruby, Elliana, Logan, Kayley, June, and Jesse (Sorry if I misspelled any names)

Some of the ladies - Kathy, Valisha, and Erin

Some of the men - Jim, Oscar, Kirk, and Caleb

Charlotte and Oscar

These are just the families that went to the Zoo, though.  There are so many other wonderful people that have touched our lives since we’ve been here!  This year especially I have felt blessed by the other moms here.  I’ve learned from their wisdom and experience, felt accepted and loved, and found a safe place to be myself and talk about the things that are on my heart.  God has moved deeply through our Thursday evening prayer times and given us fun girly times of just hanging out.  I still miss my family and friends in Indiana and Minnesota (and pretty much every where else all over the country).  But it’s nice to have a community of surrogate family to “do life with” as we like to say at Hope.

On a related “family” note:  So excited for Leo and Renee who are getting married in May of 2011!

And I get to be a bridesmaid!  …or bridesmatron….I don’t know how that one works.  Anyway, I’ll be standing up there giving my support to this beautiful couple.

Well, today is a gorgeous fall day with beautiful temperatures, beautiful leaves, and beautiful sunny skies.  So Viola and I are off to take a walk.

 

Leave a Reply

