Kohl Hard Facts

This adventure we call life in the Kohl Family

Tweeting October 11, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — kohlhardfacts @ 11:36 pm

I started this blog for my Proclamation and Communication class.  Now I’m starting a Twitter account for the same reason.  Ugh.  But I can’t figure out how to link this, Facebook, and Twitter.  I know there’s a way, I’m just not smart (read nerdy) enough to figure it all out.  Also, I get a little ADD trying to figure it all out and end up totally lost.  Someone please help me!

My friend Lyndsey from home in Indiana was here visiting this weekend.  It was a short but fun visit.  🙂  We love having people come stay with us!  My mom is coming in on Wednesday to watch Viola for us while we go away for our anniversary, then my in-laws are coming on Saturday evening to stay for the week.  Viola is going to be very spoiled by the end of these two weeks, but that’s ok!  We love it!

I was reading an article the other day about American’s religious knowledge (a friend of mine posted it on her Facebook page).  Basically the article is crap.  The author miss represents the statistics and makes some broad generalizations that are unfounded.  He also makes a statement that is totally false as well as one that seems fairly racist.  He says, “Most know that the Golden Rule is not part of the Bible  — but a little more than half of Protestants thought it was.”  The good thing about this statement is that it shows that a little over half of Protestants got the question right.  See ’cause the “Golden Rule” actually is in the Bible.  Check out Matthew 7:12.  The survey and subsequent findings that this article was based on were actually fairly interesting.  Incidentally, I took the quiz and got 14 out of 15 questions correct.  You should take the quiz too and test your knowledge.  Anyway, all of this to say that I have been realizing more and more how easily people can put things on the Internet (and people assume they are truth).  Technology has done many great things for our world, but I think it has also made people significantly dumber.  By dumber I mean less knowledgeable, less articulate, less commonsensical, as well as far worse in basic language skills such as grammar and spelling.  Maybe it is just the teacher in me, but these things really bother me.  I feel like they are important parts of being people.  Maybe I’m just old fashioned.  Anyway, that is my rant for now.  I better go get Viola some food and work on my other homework.

 

Leave a Reply

