Kohl Hard Facts

This adventure we call life in the Kohl Family

Summer Goals June 9, 2012

Filed under: On Babies and Being a Mommy,Projects — kohlhardfacts @ 6:22 pm

It’s summertime! 

I’ve always loved summer.

The smell of sunscreen mixed with chlorine and a dash of sweat.

Lazy days laying by the pool or on the boat.

Warm evening for grilling out.

4th of July fireworks.

Festivals and street fairs and farmer’s markets.

I love summer!  [Ok, to be honest, I love every season.  Every time we enter a new season I think, “This is my favorite season!”  I know, it’s a little silly, but I just absolutely cherish having four seasons.  I think each one displays a unique and beautiful quality of the Lord.]

Anyway, as winter faded to spring and now spring is transitioning to summer, I’ve found that the days can get away from me pretty easily.  Life gets busy and I feel like nothing gets accomplished [well, nothing except chasing, feeding, changing, putting to sleep, bathing, and otherwise taking care of a 2.5 yr old and a 6 month old.  Holy wow!  She’s 6 months old today!]

And so I’ve decided to set some goals for this summer.  I want to share them with you, so that you can help keep me accountable to them.

So here they are, in no particular order:

1.)  Read 3 non-fiction and 3 fiction books.
This goal is partially inspired by this list of books from The Gypsy Mama.  As well as my dear friend Kyra who has been recommending lots of books to me lately, and my wonderful friend Susan who has deemed this “The Summer of Reading” for her family.  The 3 non-fiction books will be Strengths Finder [which I have to read for Mission 21, is that cheating?], Kisses from Katie [recommended by Kyra as well as Lisa-Jo aka The Gypsy Mama], and A.W. Tozer’s The Pursuit of God.  I haven’t decided on my 3 Fiction books yet, so I’m open to suggestions.  There’s a fair chance I will read more than 3 of each category, but I wanted to give myself a realistic and achievable goal.

 

2.)  Complete at least two creative projects.
I have five blank canvases that I would like to do something with.  I have ideas for all five, but I have yet to implement any of those ideas.  One of my ideas is to paint each of our hand prints one on top of the other with our names around it.  So I’d like to get that done this summer.  Another creative project I’d like to complete is this collage-style picture board of pictures from our wedding to hang in our bedroom.  I might add a couple more creative projects to this list, but again, I wanted to make sure my goal was attainable.  I have a tendency to create goals that make me excited, but aren’t realistic for me.  So I’m intentionally creating a very realistic list for myself.

 

3.)  Take the girls to do three new things that one/both of them have never done.
I’ll get to check one of these off when the girls and I go to Tennessee for the 4th because L has never been on Dale Hollow Lake.  Another place I would like to take them is the fire station.  I think V would really get a kick out of seeing the fire engines up close and personal.  The third thing I would like to take them to do is take them camping.  Neither of the girls has been, and C and I would really like to take them at least once this summer.

 

4.)  Workout a minimum of 4 times a week.
My very motivating friend Melissa and I are [most weeks] working out together Monday, Wednesday, and Friday.  I want to add at least one more workout a week.  Be it Wii Fit, 30 Day Shred, or going to the Y myself – I want to be doing at least four a week because I really like the way I feel when I’m working out consistently.

 

5.)  Create [and stick to] a daily schedule for me and the girls.
I’ve realized that when our life is [more or less] scheduled, things go much more smoothly.  So one of my goals for this summer is to have a schedule that includes some time set aside specifically for creative play, some for learning times, some for outdoor times, and some for “chore” times.  I’m hoping to get this schedule created over the next week so that I can implement it the following week.  It certainly won’t be a rigid schedule – that’s just not my thing – but it will help organize our days.

 

So there you have it, my list of summer goals.  Feel free to ask me how any and all of them are going [as well as any suggestions/advice for sticking to them.]  Do you have any goals for the summer?

 

2 Responses to “Summer Goals”

  1. hishoneybee Says:

    Ok, so how’s the goal setting and scheduling going??? One thing that helps me is to use our whiteboard to write the schedule for the day. Simply, of course. But those fun things like you mentioned and fun projects get accomplished more frequently when I can see them and know approximately when I want to attempt them. My computer finally turned on, so I was able to read your blog! :) Let’s plan another day to play. Do you think Vi would want to play in the water over here? :) Oh, and for books…fiction! Did you pick yours already? I’m an avid reader….I love books :) I have a few good series that you could choose a book from. Love ya!

    • Thanks for asking. Sadly, I have been terrible at keeping these goals so far. But I’m working on it. I would love to borrow some books from you, though. Let’s plan a day next week for us to come over.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.